VPN review

CyberGhost review

CyberGhost is operated by CyberGhost S.R.L.; ultimate holding company stated as Kape Technologies PLC and based in Romania. The register records 3 independent audits (1 with a linked report), 0 incidents and a lowest verified price of $2.19 per month on a 26 months term.

Published Facts checked By VPNInfobase editorial

Compiled from the vendor's own pages, auditors' reports and named news outlets, checked .

Verified facts

Checked 28 Sept 2026ActiveFrom the vendor's own pages, auditors' reports and named news outlets. Not our measurements.
Owner
CyberGhost S.R.L.; ultimate holding company stated as Kape Technologies PLC sourceUltimate owner: Teddy Sagi (via Kape Technologies) - per Wikipedia only, not confirmed on vendor pages source
Jurisdiction
Romania (CyberGhost S.R.L., Bucharest) source
Logging policy
Vendor states strict no-logs: no browsing history, traffic logs, IP assignments or connection timestamps; enforced with RAM-only servers and verified by Deloitte. sourceThis is the vendor's claim, paraphrased. An audit below is what tests it.
Independent audits
  • Deloitte Audit Romania2025Third no-logs audit (ISAE 3000 Revised) of infrastructure and operational systems (blog updated 2026-02-24) report
  • Deloitte Audit Romania2024Second no-logs audit vendor page (report not linked)
  • Deloitte Audit Romaniadate not statedFirst no-logs audit (date not read) vendor page (report not linked)
Incidents
None found in the sources checked. This is not an exhaustive search.
Transparency report
Published source
Open-source apps
Not verified from a primary source
RAM-only servers
RAM-only servers stated (share of fleet not specified) source
Refund window
45 days for 6-month/2-year plans; 14 days for 1-month plan source
Price per month
CyberGhost price per month by billed term, in the vendor's own currency
Billed termPer monthCharged up frontNote
1 month$12.99$12.99Auto-renews at $12.99 monthly source
billing period not verifiednot verifiednot verifiedNo 1-year plan on pricing page (6-month at $6.99/mo and 2-year+ offered) source
26 months$2.19$56.942 years + 2 months promo: billed $56.94 for first 26 months, then autorenews at $56.94 annually (some page copy shows +3 months variant at same $2.19/mo) source
Per-month figures are the vendor's displayed monthly equivalent for the whole billed term, so terms of different length are not like for like. No currency conversion.
Not verified
  • ultimateOwner: Wikipedia only; parent from privacy policy
  • openSourceClients: not verified (no page found)
  • audits: first audit date/link not read; 2024 date from URL/blog only
  • plans: 1-year not offered on page; refund window read from money-back page (terms page did not state days)
  • incidents: none checked exhaustively

To check current terms, go to CyberGhost's own site.

Visit cyberghostvpn.com

CyberGhost is a Romanian company whose privacy policy names Kape Technologies as its ultimate holding company. It has had three no-logs audits from Deloitte Audit Romania, the latest with a downloadable report, and its long deal is cheap on paper but averages about 2.90 a month (USD or EUR, same numerals) once renewal is counted. No incident is on the register.

Ownership and jurisdiction

CyberGhost’s privacy policy says it is CyberGhost S.R.L., registered in Romania with offices in Bucharest, and lists “our ultimate holding company, KAPE TECHNOLOGIES PLC” among the group companies data may be shared with. No individual owner is named on the vendor’s pages, and we do not repeat the register’s Wikipedia-only entry. ExpressVPN’s policy also names Kape as its ultimate holding company, and PIA’s policy refers to Kape (see the ownership table). Romania is where the operating company sits; the parent’s location is a separate question these pages do not answer.

The audits: one firm, one kind, three times

CyberGhost’s third audit page, updated 24 February 2026, says Deloitte Audit Romania examined it under ISAE 3000 (Revised) across 2025. The scope named is the VPN server configuration and change management, incident response, the token-based dedicated IP system and the safeguards against activity logging, and the page says the full report can be downloaded. Earlier audits were in 2022 and 2024; the register holds no report link for them. All three are assurance on the no-logs claim. The register records no separate app or infrastructure penetration test for CyberGhost, which does not mean none exists. The audit tracker shows the same Deloitte Romania scope on PIA.

Price: read the last column

Read on 29 September, the pricing page carried two price lists. In euros (the page says “all amounts shown are in Euros”): 26 months for EUR 56.94 (EUR 2.19 a month), six months for EUR 41.94, one month EUR 11.99. In US dollars: the same 26-month and six-month numerals (USD 56.94 and USD 41.94) but USD 12.99 for one month. Confirm which currency you are shown at checkout. The register notes the long deal renews annually at the same total. By the method on the renewal price table, the 26-month plan averages about 2.90 a month over 36 months (in either currency), not 2.19. Refunds are 45 days on the six-month and 26-month plans and 14 days on the monthly plan.

Who it fits, going by the register fields

  • Pick it if you want a low long-term cost, a 45-day window and a Deloitte assurance report you can download.
  • Look at others if you want a published individual owner, reports for every audit year, or open-source clients (none recorded). Mullvad and Proton VPN differ on each.

Against another budget VPN, see Surfshark vs CyberGhost. This is our reading of vendor pages, not a measured result.

Alternatives

Sources

Update log

  1. Body rewritten. Ownership quoted from the privacy policy, third audit scope re-read, price re-read in euros (the register held the same numerals as USD), renewal average added. Currency reconciled on 29 Sep (euro and dollar lists both read); Kape wording for ExpressVPN made explicit.
  2. Page rebuilt on the VPN audit register; facts re-checked against the vendor's own pages and auditors' reports on this date.