VPN review

ExpressVPN review

ExpressVPN is operated by Express Technologies Ltd.; ultimate holding company stated as Kape Technologies PLC and based in British Virgin Islands. The register records 28 independent audits (9 with a linked report), 1 incident and a lowest verified price of $2.99 per month on a 28 months term.

Published Facts checked By VPNInfobase editorial

Compiled from the vendor's own pages, auditors' reports and named news outlets, checked .

Verified facts

Checked 28 Sept 2026ActiveFrom the vendor's own pages, auditors' reports and named news outlets. Not our measurements.
Owner
Express Technologies Ltd.; ultimate holding company stated as Kape Technologies PLC sourceUltimate owner: Teddy Sagi (via Kape Technologies) - per Wikipedia only, not confirmed on vendor pages source
Jurisdiction
British Virgin Islands source
Logging policy
Vendor states it does not and will not keep logs of online activity or personal information (browsing history, traffic destination/metadata, DNS queries). sourceThis is the vendor's claim, paraphrased. An audit below is what tests it.
Independent audits
  • Cure532026-05ExpressMailGuard report
  • Cure532026-05Identity Defender report
  • Cure532026-04EventVPN report
  • Cure532026-03ExpressKeys security and architecture review report
  • Cure532026-03ExpressAI report
  • KPMG2025-06Third KPMG audit of privacy commitments / no-logs (TrustedServer), ISAE (UK) 3000 Type 1 as of 28 Feb 2025 report
  • Cure532024-11Aircove routers (second audit) report
  • Cure532024-10Lightway VPN protocol (fourth audit) report
  • Praetorian2024-09Lightway VPN protocol (third audit) vendor page (report not linked)
  • Cure532024-06Browser extension (second audit) vendor page (report not linked)
  • Unspecified (listed as Windows app audit)2024-04Windows app, confirm remediation of DNS issue related to split tunneling vendor page (report not linked)
  • KPMG2023-12Privacy policy claims report
  • Cure532022-11Lightway (second audit) vendor page (report not linked)
  • Cure532022-10ExpressKeys browser extension vendor page (report not linked)
  • Cure532022-10ExpressVPN browser extension vendor page (report not linked)
  • KPMG2022-09No-logs policy vendor page (report not linked)
  • Cure532022-09iOS app vendor page (report not linked)
  • Cure532022-08Android app vendor page (report not linked)
  • Cure532022-08Linux app vendor page (report not linked)
  • Cure532022-07macOS app vendor page (report not linked)
  • Cure532022-07Aircove router vendor page (report not linked)
  • Cure532022-05TrustedServer in-house VPN server technology vendor page (report not linked)
  • F-Secure2022-04Windows v12 app vendor page (report not linked)
  • F-Secure2022-03Windows v10 app vendor page (report not linked)
  • Cure532021-08Lightway VPN protocol vendor page (report not linked)
  • PwC Switzerland2020-06Build verification process vendor page (report not linked)
  • PwC Switzerland2019-06Privacy policy compliance and TrustedServer technology vendor page (report not linked)
  • Cure532018-11Browser extension vendor page (report not linked)
Incidents
  • 2021-09Vendor's official response (16 Sept 2021) to news about its CIO Daniel Gericke and his earlier work on Project Raven; the vendor says it does not condone Project Raven. Not a breach of ExpressVPN systems. Legal detail of the US case is not in the cited page and is not stated here. source
Transparency report
Published source
Open-source apps
Not all clientsLightway protocol core library is open-sourced; full apps not stated as open source. source
RAM-only servers
all servers (TrustedServer runs only on volatile memory/RAM, per vendor) source
Refund window
30 calendar days from initial purchase (new subscribers only; not for renewals) source
Price per month
ExpressVPN price per month by billed term, in the vendor's own currency
Billed termPer monthCharged up frontNote
1 monthnot verifiednot verifiedNot retrieved: pricing page renders only the 2-year tab in static HTML source
billing period not verifiednot verifiednot verifiedNot retrieved: pricing page renders only the 2-year tab in static HTML source
28 months$2.99$83.72Basic tier promo: $83.72 for first 28 months (2 years + 4 months); renews at $99.95 annually (Advanced $4.49/mo promo, renews $119.95/yr; Pro $7.49/mo promo, renews $199.95/yr) source
Per-month figures are the vendor's displayed monthly equivalent for the whole billed term, so terms of different length are not like for like. No currency conversion.
Not verified
  • ultimateOwner: only secondary source (Wikipedia); Kape stated as ultimate holding company in privacy policy
  • plans: 1-month and 1-year prices not retrieved (JS tabs)
  • audits: many report links not captured; list copied from vendor trust page
  • incidents: no exhaustive search; only Gericke/DOJ (vendor blog)
  • open source: partial (Lightway core) only

To check current terms, go to ExpressVPN's own site.

Visit expressvpn.com

What the register cannot tell you about ExpressVPN

ExpressVPN’s vendor pages name Kape as its ultimate holding company. They do not name an individual owner, and the register’s person-level owner entry rests on Wikipedia alone. The 1-month and 1-year prices were not readable on the order page (only the 28-month tab renders in static HTML), so only the long term is recorded.

Price: what a 28-month deal turns into

The register records the Basic plan at $2.99 a month for the first 28 months ($83.72), renewing at $99.95 a year. Averaged over 36 months by the method on the renewal price table, that is about $4.18 a month. Re-reading the order page on 29 September from a different location showed euro prices (EUR 69.72 for 28 months, renewing at EUR 79.95 a year), so check the total at checkout. The refund window is 30 calendar days for new subscribers, not renewals.

The audits: a long list, one kind of no-logs assurance

ExpressVPN’s trust page lists 28 audits, and most are security tests of individual apps and its Lightway protocol, mainly by Cure53. The no-logs assurance is a separate group: PwC Switzerland (2019), KPMG (September 2022, December 2023) and a KPMG engagement announced in June 2025 (the trust page and post headline call it the third; the post body calls it the second assessment, so the count is the vendor’s own inconsistency). The vendor says that last one examined “TrustedServer system and privacy policy claims as of 28 February 2025” under ISAE (UK) 3000 Type 1, which describes the design at a single date. Several older entries have no linked report. The audit tracker shows how this compares with others.

Ownership, and an incident that was not a breach

ExpressVPN is operated by Express Technologies Ltd., based in the British Virgin Islands; Kape is the named ultimate holding company, and the ownership table shows Kape’s other VPNs. In September 2021 ExpressVPN published a response to news reports about an executive’s earlier work on Project Raven, saying it does not condone Project Raven. That is not a breach of its systems; the incidents timeline files it as governance.

Who it fits, going by the register fields

  • Pick it if you want the longest audit list on the register, vendor-stated RAM-only servers on all servers, and you are happy to check the renewal price after the first term.
  • Look at others if you need open-source clients (only the Lightway core is stated as open source), a published individual owner, or a renewal price near the first-term price.

This is our reading of the register, not a measured result.

Alternatives

  • NordVPN: six audits from PwC and Deloitte, a different parent
  • Surfshark: Deloitte no-logs reports kept in an account
  • Proton VPN: annual no-logs audits by Securitum

Sources

Update log

  1. Body rewritten with sourced price, audit-type, ownership and incident context; ExpressVPN order page and KPMG 2025 post re-read; linked to the new renewal price, audit tracker, incidents and ownership pages.
  2. Page rebuilt on the VPN audit register; facts re-checked against the vendor's own pages and auditors' reports on this date.