VPN review

Surfshark review

Surfshark is operated by Surfshark B.V.; in 2022 merged with Nord Security under one holding company (operating independently) and based in Netherlands. The register records 7 independent audits (5 with a linked report), 0 incidents and a lowest verified price of $2.49 per month on a 27 months term.

Published Facts checked By VPNInfobase editorial

Compiled from the vendor's own pages, auditors' reports and named news outlets, checked .

Verified facts

Checked 28 Sept 2026ActiveFrom the vendor's own pages, auditors' reports and named news outlets. Not our measurements.
Owner
Surfshark B.V.; in 2022 merged with Nord Security under one holding company (operating independently) sourceUltimate owner: not established from a primary source
Jurisdiction
Netherlands (Surfshark B.V., Amsterdam) source
Logging policy
Vendor says it keeps its VPN logs-free: no visited IPs, browsing history, session info, connection timestamps, bandwidth or traffic; some connection data is deleted within 15 minutes after a session ends. sourceThis is the vendor's claim, paraphrased. An audit below is what tests it.
Independent audits
  • Deloitte2025No-logs assurance report (full report only in Surfshark account) vendor page (report not linked)
  • Deloitte2023No-logs assurance report (full report only in Surfshark account) vendor page (report not linked)
  • Cure532026Infrastructure and new Dausos protocol (report-to-year mapping inferred from page order) report
  • SecuRing2025-12Network infrastructure audit report
  • SecuRing2025Web, desktop, mobile apps and browser plugins security assessment (attestation letter dated 2025-06-09 in filename) report
  • Cure532021Infrastructure report
  • Cure532018Browser extensions report
Incidents
None found in the sources checked. This is not an exhaustive search.
Transparency report
Published source
Open-source apps
Not verified from a primary source
RAM-only servers
all servers (vendor states 100% RAM-only) source
Refund window
30-day money-back guarantee from initial purchase (exclusions for some resellers, prepaid cards, add-ons) source
Price per month
Surfshark price per month by billed term, in the vendor's own currency
Billed termPer monthCharged up frontNote
1 monthnot verifiednot verifiedNot retrieved: only 24-month tab in static HTML source
billing period not verifiednot verifiednot verifiedNot retrieved: only 24-month tab in static HTML source
27 months$2.49$67.23Starter tier promo: $67.23 for first 27 months (24 + 3 extra); renewal price not stated on page (One $2.79/mo, One+ $4.49/mo promo) source
Per-month figures are the vendor's displayed monthly equivalent for the whole billed term, so terms of different length are not like for like. No currency conversion.
Not verified
  • ultimateOwner: null; only "merged under one holding company with Nord Security (2022)" per about page
  • plans: 1-month and 1-year not retrieved; 2-year renewal price not stated
  • openSourceClients: not verified
  • audits: report-to-year mapping for Cure53/SecuRing PDFs inferred from page order; Deloitte reports need account login
  • incidents: none found/checked exhaustively

To check current terms, go to Surfshark's own site.

Visit surfshark.com

Surfshark is a Netherlands-based service that says it keeps no activity logs and runs all servers on RAM only. It links public security-test reports, but its no-logs reports sit inside customer accounts. Its cheap long plan has no stated renewal price. No incident is on the register.

What is verified, and what is not

Surfshark’s pages name Surfshark B.V. in Amsterdam as the operator. Its 2022 announcement says it joined Nord Security but would “continue to operate as autonomous companies”; the terms were not disclosed (see the ownership table). No individual owner is named on the pages we read, so that register field is empty.

Surfshark’s privacy policy says it keeps no visited IPs, browsing history, session information or traffic, and that some connection data is deleted within 15 minutes after a session ends. “No logs” here is the vendor’s wording, with a short-lived exception it describes itself.

The audits, by what they examined

The trust center lists seven reports of two different kinds.

  • No-logs assurance: Deloitte, 2023 and 2025. The trust center points to reports inside a Surfshark account, so a reader without an account cannot open them. The audit tracker dates the 2025 report to June 2025, from the press release.
  • Security tests with public reports: SecuRing on network infrastructure (December 2025) and on the web, desktop and mobile apps and browser plugins (attestation letter dated 9 June 2025); Cure53 on infrastructure and the Dausos protocol (listed as 2026), on infrastructure in 2021 and on browser extensions in 2018. The Cure53 protocol report’s year is our inference from its place on the page.

Beside the audit tracker, that is a broad set of technical reports, but the no-logs claim itself rests on reports only account holders can open.

Price in two currencies, and no renewal figure

Read on 29 September, the pricing page showed the same numerals in two currencies, depending on which copy was served. In euros: Starter EUR 2.49 a month for 27 months (EUR 67.23), One EUR 2.79 (EUR 75.33), One+ EUR 4.49 (EUR 121.23). A US-dollar copy showed USD 2.49, USD 2.79 and USD 4.49 with the same totals. The page says pricing “may vary depending on the currency”, so confirm the currency and total at checkout. The page says only that renewal is at “the applicable renewal price”, so we cannot compute a 36-month average as on the renewal price table. The refund window is 30 days from the first purchase, with exclusions for some resellers, prepaid cards and add-ons.

Who it fits, going by the register fields

  • Pick it if you want technical reports you can open, vendor-stated RAM-only servers and a published transparency report, and you will check the renewal price before paying.
  • Look at others if you want no-logs reports readable without an account, a named owner, or open-source clients (the register records none for Surfshark). Proton VPN publishes its no-logs reports and states its apps are open source.

For a Kape-owned rival, see Surfshark vs CyberGhost. This is our reading of vendor pages, not a measured result.

Alternatives

  • NordVPN: announced a merger with Surfshark in 2022; assurance reports by PwC and Deloitte
  • Proton VPN: annual Securitum no-logs audits, Swiss law
  • Mullvad: flat price, no email needed

Sources

Update log

  1. Body rewritten. Audits split by kind with report access re-read on the trust center, price re-read in euros with no renewal figure stated, ownership wording limited to the merger announcement. Currency reconciled on 29 Sep (page read in both euros and dollars, same numerals).
  2. Page rebuilt on the VPN audit register; facts re-checked against the vendor's own pages and auditors' reports on this date.